The Railways has promised to run more trains like Tejas in Railway Budget, but more details has been not given. These trains are believed to be Vande Bharat trains. These trains will be operated directly on PPP Model.

A Railway Board official said that trains like Tejas or other similar PPP model trains, including Vande Bharat trains will be introduced, it's production is expected to start after June this year.

It is expected that by the end of the year 2020-21, i.e 31 March 2021, 2 to 3 Vande Bharat trains will be ready. If this happens, Vande Bharat Express will be operated on PPP Model. If there is a delay in the production of Vande Bharat, then other rakes of Tejas type can be made and introduced.

Occupancy of Tejas trains is not as per expectation due to lower speed and high fares. In view of this, the railways have decided to stop production of these rakes. In place of them, Semi High Speed trains like Vande Bharat or Gatimaan can be introduced. Private companies also want to place bets on trains which would have 100% occupancy instead of Tejas, for more benefit.

Tejas Express is designed to run at a maximum speed of 180 km/h (112 mph) but the maximum operating speed allowed is 130 km/h (81 mph) due to track and safety constraints. Presently, the train runs at an average speed of 65 km/h (40 mph).
It is noteworthy that 150 trains have also been proposed to be run in the Railway Budget on PPP Model. All these trains are believed to be based on the Vande Bharat Model. For this, the Integral Coach Factory (ICF) of Chennai has released international tenders to import 44 rakes (2640 coaches) of propulsion systems. 146 trains with 18 coaches can be run from these coaches.

Last year, the Ministry of Railways had announced to run 150 trains on Public Private-partnership Model. 100 routes have also been identified for this, these include the major routes of Mumbai-Kolkata, Mumbai-Chennai, Mumbai-Guwahati, New Delhi-Bangalore, Delhi-Chennai, Kolkata-Chennai, Chennai-Jodhpur.

Not only this, Delhi-Patna, Delhi-Allahabad, Delhi-Amritsar, Delhi-Chandigarh, Delhi-Katra, Delhi Gorakhpur, Delhi-Chhapra, Delhi-Bhagalpur has been also included.  Apart from this, Mumbai-Varanasi, Mumbai-Pune, Mumbai-Lucknow, Mumbai-Nagpur, Nagpur-Pune, Secunderabad-Visakhapatnam, Patna-Bangalore, Pune-Patna, Chennai-Coimbatore, Chennai-Secunderabad, Surat-Varanasi and Bhubaneswar-Kolkata is also included, 35 routes will connect Delhi, 26 to Mumbai, 12 to Kolkata, 11 to Chennai and 8 to Bangalore.